Araweelo News Network.


Hargeisa(ANN)-Somaliland: Elections 31 May 2021.The most authentic and significant international monitoring and observation group for the 2021 municipal and parliamentary elections in Somaliland

Dr.Greg Mills is director of the Johannesburg-based Brenthurst Foundation, he is Members of The Brenthurst Foundation’s Somaliland Election from international Monitoring Team.

Members of The Brenthurst Foundation’s Somaliland Election Monitoring Mission visited Somaliland between 26 May and 2 June 2021 to monitor Parliamentary and Local Government elections on 31 May 2021 at the invitation of President Muse Bihi Abdi. This report was agreed to by the mission and handed over to the presidency on 1 June 2021.

Led by the Foundation’s director, Dr Greg Mills, the mission included the following members, all are very well know political figures and are based in African countries:

1. H.E President Ernest Bai Koroma, Former President of Sierra Leone

2. Mr Alex Waiswa, National Unity Platform, Uganda

3. Mr Aly Verjee, Africa Center, US Institute for Peace, Ethiopia

4. Mr Abbas Ali Haji,MD,East Africa Capital,Tanzania

4. Mr Atom Lim, Special Advisor to President Olusegun Obasanjo, Nigeria

5. Mr Benjamin Ezeamalu,Premium Times,Nigeria

6. Mr Bradford Machila, Legal Adviser, UPND, Zambia

7. Ms Chipokota Mwanawasa,Lawyer,Zambia

8. Ms Dianna Games, CEO, Africa@Work, South Africa

9. Ms Gladys Hlatywayo,Secretary for International Relations,MDC,Zimbabwe

10. Ms Gwen Ngwenya,Head of Policy,Democratic Alliance,South Africa

11. Mr Johannes Martin,Shadow Minister for Defence,PDM,Namibia

12. MrJohn Githongo,CEO,Inuka,Kenya

13. MrJohn Steenhuisen,Leader, Democratic Alliance,SouthAfrica

14. Dr Kizza Besigye,Leader,Forum for Democratic Change,Uganda

15. Mr Lutero Simamgo, MDM, Mozambique

16. Ambassador Lewis Brown, Former Representative to the UN, Liberia

17. Mr Peter Fabricius,Daily Maverick,SouthAfrica

18. Mr Richard Harper,Richard Harper Logistics,SouthAfrica

19. Hon. Mr Tendai Biti, Vice-President, MDC, Zimbabwe

20. Mr Zitto Zaberi Kabwe, Leader, ACT Wazalendo, Tanzania

The above members were specifically selected for their experience in either observing or participating in elections as members of political parties, sometime both.

The Brenthurst Foundation team comprised: Dr Greg Mills, Director, South Africa.

Mr Ray Hartley,Research Director,South Africa

Dr Lyal White, South Africa

Ms Marie-Noelle Nwokolo,Ghana

Ms Leila Jack,South Africa

Ms Gugu Resha,South Africa.


Click on the link below for additional information.

BRENTHURST FOUNDATION REPORT on Somaliland 2021 Parliamentary and Municipality Elections

Full report


Other interesting REPORTS

Somaliland: The little country that could — if only the world would let it—-if-only-the-world-would-let-it/

Somaliland: The Power Of Democracy

Let us all await the kind of reports that will follow or be released by other international monitoring groups that participated in the 2021 municipal and parliamentary elections in Somaliland.

Re-edited by Ahmed Yasin Mohamed Jama

Follow us Twitter@Araweelonews



By Arraale M Jama Freelance Journalist and Human Rights activist.

Araweelo News Network.